• Chapter History


    The Mississippi State Colony was established in the spring of 1991. Initial interest in establishing a colony at Mississippi State University resulted from a visit by Dana Baith and James Sipes, Chapter Service Managers from National Headquarters.

    The first organizational meeting, attended by 20 men, was held in the Ballew Animal Science Building, on the Mississippi State University campus. This meeting brought men interested in agriculture at Mississippi State University together to discuss the formation of a fraternity to develop a cohesive group with genuine brotherhood.

    A second introductory meeting was held at the Western Sizzlin' (currently LaHacienda) in Starkville. The meeting was attended by several members of the former Mississippi State Colony, which disbanded in 1984, alumni from other chapters and many prospective new members.

    The Mississippi State Colony was formed with 21 brothers in the Fall of 1991. The initiation ceremony was performed by brothers from the Xi Chapter at Auburn University. The chapter soon obtained a small house on campus and purchased a larger house on Fraternity Row in the Spring of 1993. The old house was located on University Drive where the Hunter Henry Center is presently located.

    The chapter was initiated as the Beta Tau chapter on October 31, 1992. The Alpha Gamma Chapter of Alpha Gamma Rho from the University of Florida performed the ceremony and is therefore our "Big Brother" chapter. Shane Kitchens was the first man initiated into the chapter and also served as Beta Tau's first Noble Ruler.



    Original Members

    Original Members- Alpha Gamma Rho, Beta Tau Chapter